About Us


Fischer Insurance is an independent insurance agency offering property, casualty and life insurance products. Located in Northern Michigan, Fischer Insurance has 3 offices located in Bellaire, Elk Rapids and Mancelona. Our agents can assist you with Personal and Commercial Lines products for those individuals or organizations located in Michigan, Indiana, Florida, and North Carolina.

Our History


Fischer Insurance originally began as Keith H. Fischer Insurance in 1969. Opened by Keith and his wife Joan, the current agency continues its tradition of being staffed and run by family members. When purchased in 1994 by their son Joe Fischer and his wife Tammy, they brought over 32 years of experience to the Bellaire agency, which has now expanded by adding offices in Mancelona and Elk Rapids.

Today, Fischer Insurance continues its family orientation with next generation of ownership with Mark Irwin and son Joe Fischer running the three office agency.

Timeline of Success

  • Feature List Item

    This is where the text for your Feature List Item should go. It's best to keep it short and sweet.

  • Feature List Item

    This is where the text for your Feature List Item should go. It's best to keep it short and sweet.

  • Feature List Item

    This is where the text for your Feature List Item should go. It's best to keep it short and sweet.


  • 1957

    Keith Fischer started the agency in Peck Michigan

  • 1967

    Keith moved to Bellaire Michigan and worked at Becktold insurance agency

  • 1968

    Keith opened his own office in Central Lake Michigan

  • 1969

    Moved Office to Bellaire Michigan and hired its first employee, Keith’s father

  • 1992

    Purchased the Bechtold insurance agency

  • 1994

    Keith sold the agency to sons Tim and Joe Fischer

  • 1996

    After being in various office locations in Bellaire the agency settled at its current location

  • 1997

    Joe & Tammy purchased the agency from Tim Fischer.

  • 1998

    Mancelona branch office opened.

  • 2007

    Elk Rapids branch office opened.

  • 2016

    Joe & Tammy sold the agency to Mark Irwin and Joe Fischer

What We Believe



Our Mission

To operate in an Ethical and Caring manner that validates the Respect and Trust that our Clients choose to place with us.

Our Purpose

To use our Time, Knowledge and Resources to Improve our Clients position in Life and Business.

Meet Our Staff



Mark Irwin, Principal

Licensed agent since 2002
Expertise in Craft Beverage & High Net Worth
Graduate of Central Michigan University
mark@fischerins.com
231-533-6161

Chris White, CIC

Licensed since 2008
Expertise in Personal and Commercial Insurance
chris@fischerins.com
231-264-6161

Joe Fischer, Principal

Licensed agent since 2011
Expertise in Environmental Conservation & Pollution Liability
Graduate of Ferris State University
joe@fischerins.com
231-264-6161

Shannon Meeder, CPIA

Licensed agent since 2011
Personal Lines Producer
Life Insurance Specialist
Graduate Michigan State University
shannon@fischerins.com
231-533-6161

Nick Corey, COO

Licensed agent since 2002
Expertise in Commercial & Personal Insurance
Life Insurance Specialist
Graduate of Ferris State University
nick@fischerins.com
231-533-6161

Denise Emery, CISR

Licensed agent since 2012
Personal Lines Account Manager
Graduate Ferris State University
denise@fischerins.com
231-264-6161

Diane Lambert, CISR

Licensed agent since 1991
Personal Lines Account Manager
diane@fischerins.com
231-533-6161

Joan Stine

Staff member since 2014
Administrative Assistant
Graduate Montcalm Community College
Veteran US Army
joan@fischerins.com
231-533-6161

Karen Berreth, CISR

Licensed agent since 1989
Commercial Lines Account Manager
karen@fischerins.com
231-533-6161

Chris Davies, ACSR

Licensed agent since 1989
Personal Lines Account Manager
Specialist in Farm Insurance
cdavies@fischerins.com
231-533-6161

Pat Hallberg, CISR Elite

Licensed agent since 2001
Agency Claims Advocate
pat@fischerins.com
231-587-8414

Kevin Rathke, Agent

Licensed agent since 2017
Commercial Lines Account Manager
kevin@fischerins.com
231-533-6161

Enter Your Text

Find Information And Get Free Insurance Quotes.

Get A Quote